Magazine article about OTG

Hi all!

I go by “Oryx” online, but my real name is Jack Crosbie. I’m a new member of OTG, but my day job is as a writer and journalist. (At night, I play mostly DotA2 and single player games-- I recently spent a couple hundred hours in Witcher 3).

I’ve been talking to Cefwyn, TIger, and Holysteel over the past few days, they’ve given me a really great history of what OTG is and what it’s about. What I want to write about is how the guild has fostered a community among people spread all across the world, especially those people who are “old timers,” as it is.

The story I’m writing will go in an online magazine called Medium, which publishes a new issue every month that revolves around a theme. This month’s theme is “2069,” imagining what life will look like in the future. My idea is that as the gaming generation that’s young today ages, there will be a lot more “old timers” online—people who love games and build communities around them well into the later years of their lives. That’s what led me to you.

To write it, I would love to speak to a few guild members who have been gaming for a long time. People who are 65+, 70+ and up. I know there’s a few of you out there. If you don’t want to talk, I completely understand, and you can pass this topic on by. But if you do, send me a PM or drop a comment and we can get in touch. I want to hear what it’s like to be a true old timer in the crazy world of MMOs and hear about what groups like OTG mean to you.

Thanks, that’s all!

6 Likes

If you want to read a few of my stories, here’s the last project I did for Medium: interviews with teenagers from all around the U.S. for the “Youth, Now” issue.

1 Like

I’ve been an online gamer since the mid-1990’s - but I’ve played computer games since I got my first Apple II+ in 1981. I’ve been playing Everquest II since 2013; my daughter got me into it. (I’m 65), and I love OTG.

3 Likes