Games That Made A Real Impact In Your Life Past, Present, and Future

Hello everyone! I am new to our community so I am hoping to do this right.

I have been a gamer since I was in my teens (I am 56 now!) and I remember spending countless quarters in arcades and then begging my dad to get me a game system for Christmas. I never got an Atari or Mattel Intellivsion, but as a sophomore in high school, I got a TI99-4A personal computer for my holiday gift. I quickly learned a bit of coding and was enthralled by the cool video games (Parsec, Hunt the Wumpus), much to the point where my dad decided that I was spending too much time working on the computer and took it away from me.

Well long story, short, I never gave up on my love of video games and when I worked a now defunct company called Egghead Software, one game really altered my life. I believe it was called Ultima Underworld and I think this was the first true first person perspective game for a computer. I simply could not believe playing a game in first person. So cool. Then came the shareware version of Doom and of course the rest is history. To this day, I still love FPS and I try my best at Call of Duty.

I did play WOW for many years, but in the past couple of xpacs, I have lost interest. Raiding used to take up a lot of my time much to the frustration of my amazing wife, but even playing casually, I did not find any more joy in it. I am not sure if MMOs are in my future though I have tried Final Fantasy and Guild Wars.

Recently, I just finished Elden Ring ( with help!) and I loved almost every second of it. I have about 180 hours into it and now I am simply waiting for the DLC. I am looking forward to Lord of the Fallen and I am hoping it is good.

What classic or even archaic games made a difference in your life?

Thank you for reading!
Rambios1967

4 Likes