AARP magazine story

Hello, I’m an editor for AARP The Magazine working on a package of stories on older gamers (at least 50 years old). I’m looking for interesting gamers who would for unique profiles. Any suggestions?

Also, if anyone heavily involved in the running of OTG would like to be interviewed, I’d be interested in that too. Thanks.

1 Like

You want to talk to @Trustee He is the oldest gamer in OTG. :grin:

5 Likes

Yes, Trustee would definitely be a great person to speak with.

We have a lot of members over 50, including myself.

I hesitate to assert I’m “interesting”, but I’ve been on staff in various capacities for about 7 years and would be happy to answer questions about guild structure and so on. Our Admins are the people most heavily involved in running the guild, and I’m sure they’ll reach out to you if they’re interested.

In any case, good luck with your stories. Raising awareness that gaming isn’t just for the young whippersnappers can only be a good thing!

3 Likes

Something I can’t say often… I’m too young for this :frowning:

2 Likes

I dabbled in gaming in my 40’s, but didn’t become a full-time gamer until I was 50 when I had something akin to a breakdown because I still couldn’t figure out how to make my own way in the world. By the time I was 55, I’d spent so much time playing MMORPGs that I suddenly had far more information about my mental handicap than I’d gotten in the previous 50 years of my life. Being able to compare my abilities with thousands of other people in a microcosm of reality taught me specifics about how my brain and nervous system function compared to the average person. I was able to find enough ways to describe my brain’s differences that a therapist told me that it sounded like I was on the autism spectrum. I eventually got tested for that and received a diagnosis for it.