Warframe advice

So I recognize that any advice is subjective in nature and I do not want to put anyone on the spot. Let me tell you where I am, and some ideas I have on my next Warframe and a few weapons–maybe. I suspect I am far away in time from Edilon hunting so I am primarily concerned with a solid , survivable, high DPS warframe and associated weapons.
Currentley l am MR 3, Excalibur at 26.(will take it to 30)

I am looking at a Chroma ( Ice build) or a Rhino next. Weapons are a bit iffy but so far I seem to do well with duel wield axes and a rifle. Looking at playing with a Fragor (sp?) as I have a the blueprint and I want to experiment with a hard hitting 2 hander. (Understand a Leston may be the way to go in future) I still have no solid Idea of what I am doing but I am still learning.

So ideas for next Warframe? and associated weapons?

Maybe I am looking at the wrong things–should probably be more into Mods and all those things I do not yet understand–but I feel I need a solid Warframe to advance ( not that there is anything wrong with Excaliber–just want to switch up)

Well fin you should look to getting rhino 1st hes a much easier farm and a lot easier to understand/build then chroma. As far as weapons go at mr3 you should be lvling everything you can get your hands on. if your looking for a weapons that you can get at low lvl that you can use to kill higher lvl mobs, the Hek (mainhand shotgun) and the lex (pistol) are a good place to start. if you want to get a little more in depth hit me up on discord theres just to much to type. Im on most days 10am est for about 1 hr then 12noon till 3 on weekdays. If you catch me online ill gladly go over builds with you.

I second the Rhino.