Suggestions for beginning GW2 Players

Hi there!
My husband and I, and another couple, are OTG members currently looking for another game to play before Pantheon comes out. We’re thinking about giving GW2 a try in the fall. Summer is going to be busy with vacations and family visits. We’re experienced gamers having played AA, Warhammer, LOTRO, Rift, EQ, etc. We work and have families, so we are only on for a 2-3 hours in the evenings and a little more on weekends when we can game.

I’d like some suggestions about which characters/classes might work well together for a us. We’re social and we like to do guild events, but we’re mostly PVE and lifeskills oriented. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks very much!

I’m fairly new to GW2 so I can’t say anything towards classes, although I do have a GW2 static group and we have several classes. As for doing stuff with the guild there are several guild events each week and all are welcome. Hope to see you all in game.

Really, any class combo works. The game is not trinity oriented. All classes have some amount of healing, all classes can dps, everyone can rez, etc. Some are more support-y than others, but it’s more about your build and gear than class, and neither matters much while leveling.

Elementalist is perhaps one of the more difficult to get started with in that they’re pretty squishy and trickier to play to best advantage at cap, but I wouldn’t let that discourage you if you want to try one. Playing a group, you won’t notice the glassiness so much.

The game is super friendly to casual play and built around cooperative play. Open tapping, shareable resource nodes, automatic level downscaling, etc.

“Any combo works” Moss speaks the truth so choose what looks the most interesting to you.

The profession pages will give you a glimpse in each https://www.guildwars2.com/en/the-game/professions/

Feel free to message questions in game or guild chat. If you need some bags, food buffs or anything else let me know.