I'm finally almost finished getting Remnant gear

With my brain issues (ASD) there are many parts of the game that I can’t participate in. “Accomplishments” for me are generally things that most other people either find easy or uninteresting. Most people don’t find my accomplishments worth celebrating. I may not be able to participate with most people in their challenges and accomplishments, but that doesn’t mean that mine don’t matter. So, I’m taking electrons and social space to celebrate one of the things that’s most important to me in this game: completing my collection of Remnant gear.

When I started playing again a few months ago (after about 5 years) I still needed 43 pieces of the Remnant gear sets that come in the KotFE Alliance crates. At that point, I was getting 1 new piece for every 10 crates I opened. As of right now, I’m down to needing 16 more pieces. Woohoo. I want to count down in public from here.

One of the reasons this is such an accomplishment for me is because I generally don’t do anything in games that requires grinding. I don’t have much stomach or patience for it. Acquiring these crates has required a fair amount of grinding, whether it’s been through heroics or leveling toons to the point of opening up the Star Fortresses (which gives you about 36 crates each time).

My last toon to open up Star Fortresses only got 1 new piece from 36 crates. That scared me a bit, but it appears to have been a fluke. Since then I’ve been averaging 1 for every 12-ish crates. I can live with that. I am concerned how many the last 5 or so will require. With the consistency of the rate of acquisition I’m experiencing, I’m wondering if they wrote code to make sure the process wasn’t simply random. RNG could make the process almost impossible to complete. 7 pieces x five sets x 8 classes = enough for RNG to be a complete pain.