Starting a business

Does anyone have experience starting, operating, or owning a business?

I’m opening a restaurant this year and I could use the experience and suggestions from people either in the business or general business experience i.e. payroll companies, inventory software, accounting software

Thank you!

1 Like

What experience do you have in running a restaurant ? It is not the easiest way to make a living. Long hours , long lists of regulations to comply with. Staff dishonesty , endless cleaning, pest control and heaps of competition. no time for yourself or your family.
Have you ever watched Ramsey’s kitchen nightmares
Not trying to put you off but there are a lot of pitfalls if you have little experience .

3 Likes

I’ve been a professional chef for 20 years. I’ve opened 5 restaurants for people.

I’m looking for suggestions and experience with things like accounting, inventory, payroll, POS systems.

I’m very experienced in the industry, but that doesn’t mean I know everything, and anyone that can offer a suggestion or 2 would be very appreciated.

I don’t know anything about solid restaurant pos systems, but those s/b attached to some form of accounting methodology and inventory control. I would farm out your payroll if you can afford to (something like PayChex, etc…) As a pro chef I am sure you are well versed in knowing your food costs, but I would also highly recommend that you fully understand a P&L statement and balance sheet. Especially understand your fixed costs vs. variable costs, If you are installing a bar, I would recommend any system that fully accounts for your liquor inventories as overpouring/bar theft can be a serious bleed. Love all of your employees, but trust none of them. I’ve run several business units and companies (not restaurants) but I can’t stress enough fully understanding your industry related business reports. You must review these on a monthly basis.

2 Likes

Do you suggest any variable cost models to follow?